Let there be . . . blog?

So I’m starting a blog. Don’t tell Jason. He’ll just make fun of me for it. And I’m sure there are plenty of you out there that are screaming, “No! Not another blog!” while pulling your hair out and running for the nearest zombie apocalypse shelter. And I get that. I really do. I mean, everyone and their brother has a blog. I’m pretty sure I even know a couple of dogs that blog. (Don’t tell Fido that I don’t read his posts. I don’t want him to bite me the next time I see him.) Yet, here I am. Why? Well, there’s a simple explanation for it, but let’s start with the reasons that I’m not starting a blog.

 

1. I’m not starting a blog because I’m funny. Truth be told, I’m probably not, though I like to think I am. Thankfully my husband thinks so too. He finds it charming (sometimes.) Like when we saw a Swift transport truck that had caught on fire on the side of the road (no worries, it was just the trailer), and I said, “Not so swift now, are you?” He laughed, and I was proud. It’s the little things in life.

2. I’m not necessarily writing a blog to talk about my kids, though I’m sure that I will, because I’m a stay at home mom, and sometimes I have nothing better to write about. Mainly, what I’m saying here is that I’m not going to be handing out parenting advice, because, let’s face it, I spend most of my time flying by the seat of my pants. Apparently one of my husband’s coworkers has already condemned at least one of my kids to prison. (I guess that’s at least a slight improvement from his 50% odds that my kid was going to turn out a sociopath.)

3. In spite of the fact that I’m an aspiring author (I write regularly for the local newspaper and have written four novels) I’m not making any big waves in the publishing industry yet. So I’m not here to hand out advice on that. In fact, I’d be happy be on the receiving end if you have any nuggets of wisdom.

That brings us to the reason that I am starting a blog. I am attempting to get a novel published, and apparently in this day of digital torture, having an online presence is a good way to convince a publisher that you’re worth throwing money at. So here I am, hoping I can get a few people to follow my blog. I may even have to *gasp* start a twitter account. So please, read, comment and share if you think it’s worth a few seconds. I’d be forever grateful.

Join me next time when I’ll blog about my writing my newest novel and dealing with rejection.

 

 

Leave a Reply

