NaNoWriMo Eve

As I sit here writing this blog post, it is officially NaNoWriMo Eve. To most people it would be know as Halloween, but Halloween is over in this house. The costumes have been stripped off and left lying in the middle of the floor surrounded by candy wrappers, I’ve eaten more candy than real food, and the kids have finally slipped off to dream in their sugar comas. The last trick-or-treaters have turned in for the night. And I am left staring into the eyes of NaNo.

This year will mark the first year I’ve actually planned on taking the NaNo challenge. I first heard about the 50,000 word race two years ago, but it was already halfway through the month of November, and I had no ideas on new material to write, so I didn’t even bother. Last year, I was (as usual) late to the party. I’d forgotten about it until I read about it on a parenting forum. By then, it was the third of November. Even though I didn’t have the beginnings of a novel in my brain, divine inspiration struck, and a novel was born.

This year, I’ve had time to prepare, and maybe that’s the reason I’m feeling somewhat apprehensive about it. I’m not sure why I’m so worried. Maybe it’s the fact that I’ve succeeded once, which makes the idea of failure even less appealing. Maybe it’s the fact that my kids have spent the last week sick, so I’ve had almost no time to myself to sit down and write. Maybe it’s the fact that I’m halfway through a rewrite that I’m reluctant to put aside for the next month. It’s hard to say, but the excitement that I felt a week or so ago has turned to nerves.

It probably doesn’t help that I find myself lacking slightly in the familial support department. My husband seems to think that NaNo made me into a cranky, hermit last year. (You should see his, “Don’t bother me. I’m writing.” impression.) The one big plus here is that he has decided to enter a November contest of his own. He and his coworkers have all agreed to participate in No-Shave November, and they’re going to vote to see who grows the best beard. I think that buys me a little bit of wiggle room. If I have to put up with his bushy beard, he can deal with my need for writing time.

So I’m sitting here, while my husband eats the kids Halloween candy, wondering what the next month will bring. And hoping I’ll be able to find the time to bang out the 1,666 and 2/3 words that I need to get down every day to make my 50,000 word goal. And worrying that I’ll run out of material before I hit 50k. But you know what? Tomorrow I will sit down at the computer, I will hit the keys, and I’ll do the best I can. And I’ll let you know how I do along the way. (Assuming I can find time to write a blog post in addition to my NaNo necessities.)

Wish me luck and may the NaNo be with you!

Leave a Reply

