On the fourth day of NaNo, my novel gave to me . . .

So we are officially on the fourth day of NaNoWriMo, which means I probably shouldn’t be writing this blog post. For the next few weeks, there are two reasons I will be blogging: either I’m taking a quick break from my novel (and hopefully caught up on my word counts) or I’ve fallen hopelessly behind and given up.

Today is the first of those two. Whew! It’s been a difficult few days, but I’m keeping up. I think this year had a rough start because the first of November fell on a Friday. For most people, the weekend is probably the best time to get writing done. For me, it’s the opposite. With my husband and kids home all weekend, it’s hard for me to find time to sit down by myself and concentrate like I need to. And for us, the weekend usually starts early on Friday. Combine that with a six-year-old who is still recovering from a nasty fever, and trying to hit my 1666 2/3 words each day was a challenge. 

On Friday, I managed to get a good start, writing over 2,000 words. But I knew I needed some extra in the tank to save up for later. Saturday we went for a 22.5 mile bike ride, which took most of the day. And yesterday we spent a good portion of the day in the car. It was a bit of a stretch to hit the 5,000 word mark that I needed to reach to keep on track, but I managed.

The story has been moving a little more slowly than I’d like, and I’m not sure I like most of what I’ve written, but that’s the point in NaNo. Sometimes you have to just have to hogtie your inner-editor, add some duct tape across their mouth and toss them in the corner. They can wait there patiently until December first. So that’s my plan. I’ll keep putting down words, and hopefully I’ll have at least a rough story that can be shaped into something better down the line.

As I write this, I’m at 7,295 words which puts me ahead of where I need to be, but there’s a long time between now and the end of the month. There’s no telling what could happen between now and them. So for now, I’ll just keep on plugging along and hope divine inspiration strikes.

Leave a Reply

