The NaNo Gods must be crazy . . .

We’re more than halfway through the month of November. Thanksgiving is only a week and a half away. My husband’s beard is getting decidedly bushy, and the NaNo Gods have decided to throw everything at me. Including the kitchen sink. Maybe it’s time to look for a better sacrifice. My time and sanity don’t seem to be cutting it.

On Saturday I had my first failure of NaNo. Despite writing and desperately updating my word count up until the very stroke of midnight, I only managed to log 1,356 of my 1,666 2/3 word goal. Now I could blame it on a lot of things. I could blame it on a lack of inspiration, my own procrastination or a bad impersonation. It’s got to be some sort of ation, right? But no. I lay the blame squarely on the shoulder of my bushy-bearded husband.

My husband is not nearly as big of a fan of NaNo as I am. In fact, he pretty much just hates it. Apparently I spend too much time obsessing over writing, and not enough time paying attention to him. (Forgive me. I’m an addict.) So this year in a blatant attempt to ruin my run at NaNo he went and got sick with pneumonia. Pneu-fricking-monia! Are you kidding me??? I blame it on his beard. Surely the pneumonia organisms wouldn’t have been able to settle in if they hadn’t been able to cling to the unshaven strands that are covering his face.

Needless to say, Saturday was the climax of his illness, which resulted in us spending our afternoon in the Emergency Room (because small town’s don’t understand the need for Urgent Care centers). Thankfully an amazing friend watched the kids so I didn’t have to try and corral them around the hospital waiting room.

The good news is, I have quite a few words saved for a rainy day like Saturday was. Par for today is an even thirty thousand words. I’m currently sitting at 36,673, and I haven’t written today. Well, that’s not true. I’ve written two and a half newspaper articles and this blog post. I just haven’t had a chance to sit down and work on NaNo. But I will find time. I will preserver. And tomorrow and Wednesday I will have a bit of respite while both kids are in school, and the mending spouse is at work. Hopefully I can work my way closer to that elusive 50,000 word target and not give myself pneumonia doing it.

Leave a Reply

